Playlist: Buah Mixtape #31

By Teta

Hey! It’s been a while.

Buah zine’s hiatus has stretched out longer than I anticipated. I think I’ve been in my head for too long. I keep on making plans and having ideas, but then, when it comes to execution, I sort of … choke, I guess. To put it inelegantly.

I think about Buah zine a lot, even if I’ve become less active than I wanted to be. All I can do is try, though, so I will try to restart posting for the zine. It does feel good to log on again after so long. I really have missed aimlessly making playlists and scouring for new reads.

I’ve felt creatively stagnant for three years now (take a guess as to why haha). I’ve tried shaking things up: attending virtual writing workshops here and there, taking a walk, talking to others about it. Recently, I bought a sewing kit and have started repairing my own clothes instead of taking them to the dry cleaners, so I’ve been feeling pretty good about that.

There’s not really a point to this preamble. What I’m trying to convey, I guess, is that if there’s anyone who comes across the post who used to be creatively motivated but has seen those impulses weaken to a sad, little thrum, I get it and I am with you. We’ll figure it out, I think we always have, and we’ll just keep trying. Sometimes, that’s all we can do.

Anyways, here’s a 100-song playlist featuring artists of Indonesian heritage making interesting music. The overarching theme is “Let It Wash Over You.” I hope you enjoy!

This playlist is also available on Apple Music here.

Listen to Buah zine’s picks now on Spotify or Apple Music.

(Header photo via Apple Music and YouTube screenshots)


More on Buah zine


Here are my recent music video recommendations:

Melati ESP, “BAHASA BARU”

This music video is so cinematic and breathtaking — I can’t look away. And check out the new album, “hipernatural.”

“BAHASA BARU” by Melati ESP

White Chorus, “This Feeling”

The animation is very charming; I want an art book with these illustrations to add to my collection. Check out their latest release, “LIMBO +.”

“This Feeling” by White Chorus

Grrrl Gang, “Spunky!”

Sometimes, when you see a cool lead singer on stage, you don’t know whether you want to be them or [REDACTED]. I get it. Their new album, “Spunky!,” drops later this month.

“Spunky!” by Grrrl Gang